REGULAR MEETING OF PALMERTON BOROUGH COUNCIL

HELD IN BOROUGH HALL COUNCIL CHAMBERS

THURSDAY, JANUARY 2, 2024, AT 7:00 P.M.

Don Herrmann, Mayor, called the duly advertised meeting to order at 7:00 p.m., with the following members present:

Terry L. Costenbader
Kris W. Hoffner
Richard Nothstein
Holly F. Hausman Sell
William A. Gallagher

Jenny Y.C. Cheng, Solicitor Don Herrmann, Mayor Timothy Kromer, Police Chief Autumn Canfield, Manager/Secretary Kimberly A. Rodrigues, Recording Secretary

Absent: Andrew Hollywood Randolph Gursky

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

SWEARING IN OF ELECTED OFFICIALS

Mayor Don Herrmann performed the swearing-in for Terry Costenbader and Holly Sell. All election certificates and residency affidavits have been received and are on file with the Borough Secretary.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

1. Don Herrmann opened the floor for nominations for the office of Council President. On motion by Kris Hoffner, second by Richard Nothstein and Roll Call vote, Terry Costenbader was appointed Council President.

Roll Call Vote:			
William Gallagher	Aye	Holly Sell	Aye
Kris Hoffner	Aye	Terry Costenbader	Abstained
Richard Nothstein	Aye		

Secretary recorded 4 aye, 1 abstention; motion carried.

2. Don Herrmann opened the floor for nominations for the office of Council Vice-President. On motion by Terry Costenbader, second by Richard Nothstein and Roll Call vote, Kris Hoffner was appointed Council Vice-President.

Roll Call Vote:			
William Gallagher	Aye	Holly Sell	Aye
Kris Hoffner	Abstained	Terry Costenbader	Aye
Richard Nothstein	Aye		

Secretary recorded 4 aye, 1 abstention; motion carried.

Reorganization meeting - January 2, 2024

3. Don Herrmann opened the floor for nominations for the Office of Chairman Pro Tem. On motion by Terry Costenbader, second by Kris Hoffner and Roll Call vote, Holly Sell was appointed Chairman Pro Tem.

Roll Call Vote:			
William Gallagher	Aye	Holly Sell	Abstained
Kris Hoffner	Aye	Terry Costenbader	Aye
Richard Nothstein	Aye		

Secretary recorded 4 aye, 1 abstention; motion carried.

POLICE DEPARTMENT AWARDS

Timothy Kromer presented awards to the following officers commending them for their dedicated performance while on duty:

- 1. Shawn Leadbetter and Brian Stern for their swift actions responding to a dwelling fire, evacuating occupants safely and preventing damage to the building.
- 2. Kevin Buck for his outstanding work and countless hours conducting a fraud investigation.

HEARING OF VISITORS

No visitors

APPOINTMENT OF BOROUGH OFFICERS

On motion by Kris Hoffner, second by Richard Nothstein and voice vote, Council appointed the following positions for the year 2024:

Manager, Secretary, Treasurer, Streets Commissioner – Autumn Canfield Assistant Secretary – Kimberly Rodrigues Solicitor – Jenny Cheng, Esquire Labor Attorney – White and Williams General Engineer – Keystone Consulting Engineers Sewer and Water Engineer – Entech Engineering Zoning and Building Code Officer – Duane Dellecker Code Enforcement Agent – Carolee Boyer Sewer Enforcement Officer – Keystone Consulting Engineers Health Officer – Duane Dellecker Open Records Officer – Kim Rodrigues

POLICE CHIEF AGREEMENT

On motion by Terry Costenbader, second by Richard Nothstein and voice vote, Council approved the Police Chief agreement for 2024.

AUTHORIZATION OF SIGNATURES ON BOROUGH ACCOUNTS

On motion by Richard Nothstein, second by Kris Hoffner and voice vote, Council authorized Terry Costenbader, Kris Hoffner, Holly Sell, Autumn Canfield and Kimberly Rodrigues to sign checks and withdrawals on the borough checking and investment accounts; with two signatures required on each check or withdrawal (one member of Council, one member of administration).

AUTHORIZATION FOR SIGNATURES OF UNIFORMED PENSION FUND

On motion by Richard Nothstein, second by Kris Hoffner, and voice vote, Council authorized Terry Costenbader and Autumn Canfield to sign transactions for the Uniformed Pension Fund.

PAYMENT OF INVOICES

On motion by Holly Sell, second by Kris Hoffner and voice vote, Council authorized payment of invoices prior to Council meeting, contingent on Council receiving a complete report of checks written, along with outstanding invoices, for review and approval at Council meeting.

SELECTION OF MEETING DATES

On motion by Richard Nothstein, second by Kris Hoffner and voice vote, Council set the 2024 meeting dates as follows:

January 11, 25	April 11, 25	July 11, 25	October 10, 24
February 8, 22	May 9, 23	August 8, 22	November 7, 21
March 14, 27	June 13, 27	September 12, 26	December 5, 19

APPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

On motion by Richard Nothstein, second by Holly Sell and voice vote, Council approved the following individuals to positions on borough boards and commissions:

Zoning Hearing Board (alternate) – Joseph Slovick (1 year) Zoning Hearing Board – Christopher Olivia (3 years) Shade Tree Commission – Jared Cebrosky (3 years) Municipal Authority - Joseph Kercsmar (5 years) Planning Commission - Jeffrey Lutz (4 years) UCC Board of Appeals – Warren Riggins (5 years) Civil Service Commission – Josann Harry (6 years) Council Vacancy Board – Christopher Olivia (1 year) Library Board Representative - Jack Woginrich (1 year) Emergency Management Coordinator – Terry Mertz (1 year) Representative to Carbon County Tax Collection Committee – Autumn Canfield (1 year)

Reorganization meeting - January 2, 2024

Representative to Carbon County Council of Governments – Kris Hoffner (1 year) Representative to Carbon County Council of Governments (alternate) – Autumn Canfield (1 year)

OTHER BUSINESS

None

ADJOURNMENT

On motion by Richard Nothstein, second by Holly Sell and voice vote, Council adjourned the meeting at 7:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kimberly A. Rodrigues Recording Secretary

Autumn Canfield Manager/Secretary